Columbus Sex Crime Attorney
Defending Those Accused of Serious Sex Offenses
Every day, there seems to be another story of a teacher, coach, or relative allegedly having sexual relationships with teenagers. If you don't hear about that one day, you'll hear about sexual material involving minors. Ohio law has a handful of statutes that cover these offenses, which are found in Revised Code 2907.
- Our client was falsely accused of molesting his own 7-year-old daughter. Within 30 days of retaining The Koffel Law Firm, the charges were deemed “unsubstantiated” and the detective closed the case.
- Our young client was accused of raping a female classmate while at the high school. Our client was immediately expelled from school and charged in juvenile court. After 9 months of litigation, the case was eventually settled with the rape charge being amended to felony assault, a non-sex offense. The client was placed on probation and ordered to remain in counseling to gain insight in sexual behavior and appropriate boundaries. (Z.R., 2018).
A football player at Ohio University was recently charged with sexual assault,
and after a lengthy Title IX hearing was acquitted of all charges.
[View More Results +]
Every single one of these crimes triggers sex offender registration and notification ("SORN") under the new Adam Walsh Act ("AWA"). State or federal charges almost make a huge difference in sentencing. Attorney Brad Koffel has successfully defended these types of cases. The key is to find the right client and the right case to defend.
Arrested for a sex offense in Ohio?
Contact The Koffel Law Firm at(614) 675-4845!
When an individual is convicted of a sex-related offense in Ohio, he or she must register as a sex offender in the state. Their information, including name, offense and address, will be provided on a list available to the public.
Duties to Register as a Sex Offender Effective January 1, 2008
If a defendant is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually oriented offense and/or a child victim offense, they will be classified as a Sex Offender. There are 3 tiers of sex offenders. Tier I (a period of 15 years with in-person verification annually); Tier II (a period of 25 years with in-person verification every 180 days); and, Tier III (lifetime registration with in-person verification every 90 days).
Offenders must register with the sheriff of the county in which the offender resides within 3 days of coming into the county or if the offender will be domiciled there more than 3 days. This rule also applies to counties in which an offender will be going to school and/or working. If an offender is going to leave the county for 7 days or more, the offender must register the temporary lodging information with the sheriff.
Employment and/or school changes must be given to the sheriff at least 20 days before the change but no later than 3 days after the change. All vehicle information must be current as well internet email addresses, internet identifiers, and telephone numbers.
Computer-Related Sex Crime Defense
Computer sex crimes, including owning pornography or child pornography, can have lifelong consequences for a person who is merely accused of this type of criminal act. From losing your job to facing prison time, you will face a life full of negative repercussions when accused of this type of offense. Under Ohio law, we primarily see Importuning, Disseminating Matter Harmful to Juveniles, Pandering, and Illegal Use of a Minor in Nudity-Oriented Material or Performance (R.C. 2907.07 and 2907.31-2907.323)
Public Indecency and Voyeurism Charges
Public Indecency , which is also commonly referred to as lewd conduct, can be classified as a 5th degree felony all the way to a 4th degree misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances of the offense. This crime includes exposing private parts, engaging in sexual activity or activity that could be considered sexual to an observer. Voyeurism is known as a sexual offense that can create a large stir in the media and hold repercussions including job loss. While it is usually charged as a misdemeanor offense, in cases relating to the video taping of sexual acts, there may be additional charges.
Frequently Asked Questions About Sex Crime in Columbus
If you have any questions about your case, check out the Q & A below to see if it has already been answered. Be sure to speak with a professional attorney for further answers!
What does tier 1 sex offender mean?
Registration as a sex offender is based on different categories, or tiers. Tier 1 offender refers to those who have been convicted of Tier 1 offenses. This tier is the lowest level and involves individuals who have served a year or less in jail. Some examples would include the possession of child pornography or sexual assault against an adult that was not a completed act.
I have been charged with statutory rape, but what if we were both drunk
at the time?
Under the Ohio sex crime laws, if an individual knows that another person is incapacitated but continues to go through with intercourse, it is classified as rape. Because of the nature of the case, it is difficult to pinpoint consent.
Can I be legally charged with rape if the alleged victim is my spouse?
The state of Ohio handles cases involving marital rape different than most of the country. Although it is illegal in the United States, a broader range of defenses are available in some states, including Ohio. State legislatures, however, are working hard to get this changed so that less defense options will be available.
What does pandering sexually-oriented material mean?
Pandering sexually-oriented material or pandering obscenity refers to instances when an individual allegedly creates, reproduces, publishes, buys, sells, or distributes obscene material. It is one of the sex crimes in Ohio that can result in a felony of the fifth degree. If convicted, the individual would be required to register as a Tier I sex offender.