Driving Under Suspension
Arrested for driving on a suspended license?
Driving under suspension is a first degree misdemeanor in the state of Ohio. The charge results from driving while a license is restricted. This statute applies to driver's licenses, commercial driver's licenses (CDLs), driving permits, and to out of state drivers. In addition to the penalties of a first degree misdemeanor, if convicted, the court may impose a class seven suspension. If your license was suspended, either for OVI or another revocable offense, contact The Koffel Law Firm to discuss your legal rights and options.
Driving Under OVI Suspension
§ 4510.14 of the Ohio Revised Code contains the statute against driving under OVI suspension.
No person whose driver's or commercial driver's license or permit or nonresident operating privilege has been suspended for a conviction of a violation of a municipal OVI ordinance shall operate any motor vehicle during the period of the suspension. (B) Whoever violates this section is guilty of driving under OVI suspension. (1) Except as otherwise provided in division (B)(2) or (3) of this section, driving under OVI suspension is a misdemeanor of the first degree.
Penalties for Driving Under Suspension
People convicted for driving under suspension can face the following penalties:
- Mandatory 3-day jail term, or
- 30 days of house arrest with electronic monitoring, and
- A fine of $250-$1,000, and
- License suspension, and
- Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
Sentences get more severe with each subsequent offense within six years.
Contacting The Koffel Law Firm
To discuss your defense options after an arrest for driving under suspicion, contact The Koffel Law Firm today. Lead Attorney Brad Koffel has been listed in Best Lawyers, Super Lawyers®, and is rated AV Preeminent on Martindale-Hubbell®. Trust our firm with your defense!